Admiral Fallow – Track by Track zu „Tree Bursts In Snow“

Admiral Fallow - Tree Busts In Snow

Nächste Woche Freitag ist es endlich soweit, dann nämlich veröffentlichen die Schotten von Admiral Fallow mit „Tree Bursts In Snow“ ihr nunmehr zweites Album. Den Nachfolger zum 2010er Debüt „Boots Met My Face“ nahm die Band um Songwriter Louis Abbott in Glasgow im Heimatstudio des Chemikal Underground Labels zusammen mit The Delgados Frontmann und Produzent Paul Savage (Franz Ferdinand, Mogwai, Teenage Fanclub) auf.

Die ersten Rezensionen waren größtenteils überschwänglich. Die Rede war von „epic indie-pop“, „big yearning choruses and swaying anthems“ und „majestically builds and broods“. Auch wir sind sehr angetan. Was euch genau auf dem Album erwartet und was hinter den Songs steckt hat uns Frontmann Louis Abbott in einem kleinen Track by Track zusammengefasst. Viel Spaß damit:

1. Tree Bursts

The title track refers to the image of an artillerial shell hitting a tree and the damage it would cause. The song itself is written from the perspective of a young person who has been caught up in violence out with their control.

2. The Paper Trench

The lead single from the album. Harmony heavy with pounding drums and bass. It touches on the economic situation in the world today. Listen for the tree references at the end..

3. Guest Of The Government

A straight ahead pop song about the best bar in Glasgow and it’s customers.

4. Beetle In The Box

I co-wrote this song with Jo Mango while we were running a songwriting workshop for young people. It is based on Wittgenstein’s theory that everyones’s mind is a box but because nobody can truly know what is inside someone’s ‚box‘ we’ll never know how other people feel about certain things.

5. Old Fools

The lyric came from lots of different fragments of ideas collated over a couple of years and stuck together. This was also the case to an extent with the music with the interlude section near the end being taken from an older idea.

6. Isn’t This World Enough?

A tongue-in-cheek take on the importance people put on ‚higher power‘ belief systems. The repeated refrain is asking why people can’t just be amazed by the natural things on this planet rather than attributing it all to a god or idol. It also has a springsteen, gospel-like musical backdrop. It was inspired by the comedy stylings of Tim Minchin.

7. Brother

Written about my two younger brothers at a time when they seemed to be feeling a little lost in their lives. The riff calls to mind Broken Social Scene for me.

8. The Way You Were Raised

A song about the effects of excessive drinking on otherwise well natured people. It came about after a near run in I had with two large gentlemen on Glasgow’s infamous Sauchiehall Street and heavily features the flute playing of Sarah Hayes.

9. Burn

Written on numerous train rides throughout central Scotland during the summertime it deals with the theme of regret. It is the most orchestral sounding song on the album with a string arrangement written by drummer Phil Hague and sweeping bass clarinet lines performed by Kevin Brolly.

10. Oh, Oscar

The bookend of ‚Tree Bursts‘. The song touches on the old cliche of ‚be careful what you wish for‘ as the character singing it has achieved success but is now asking whether he wanted it after all. It was recorded with all of us in the same room in one take completely live.

Video zu „The Paper Trench“

Facebook // Homepage // Myspace // Label

Tree Bursts In Snow bei kaufen


  1. […] zu den einzelnen Songs könnt ihr übrigens im Track by Track nachlesen, das uns Admiral Fallow Sänger Louis Abbott freundlicherweise zur Verfügung gestellt […]

    Posted by Admiral Fallow – Tree Bursts In Snow | WhiteTapes | Mai 15, 2012, 1:13 pm